TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD



SHARON D. BANKS
AWARD
FOR
HUMANITARIAN
LEADERSHIP IN
TRANSPORTATION

The Transportation Research Board is seeking nominations for the **Sharon D. Banks Award** for Humanitarian Leadership in Transportation. This TRB award, which recognizes excellence in people-oriented initiatives throughout transportation, was inaugurated in 2002 and may be presented biennially. The next presentation of the award will be made during the Chair's Plenary Session on Wednesday, January 10, 2024, during the TRB 103rd Annual Meeting.

BACKGROUND AND HISTORY

Sharon D. Banks was the General Manager of AC Transit, Oakland, California, from 1991 to 1999 and served as Chair of the TRB Executive Committee in 1998. She died in 1999. She was nationally known for her personal integrity, for nurturing and mentoring young transportation professionals, and for bringing together people of diverse backgrounds and commitments in the pursuit of organizational excellence. She insisted that transportation agencies treat their customers and their employees with utmost respect. Sharon Banks led by example, and this award is intended to honor others who typify her ideals of humanity and service.

This award was established by TRB with the encouragement and support of the U.S. Department of Transportation. Others who contributed to establishing the award, in



addition to TRB and USDOT, included the American Public Transportation Association, AC Transit, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials, and the California Transit Association.

AWARD DESCRIPTION AND CRITERIA

The award is intended to recognize individuals whose accomplishments exemplify Sharon's caring nature and depth of character by making a significant difference in the lives of those who use, deliver, or support transportation services. This award *goes beyond* general managerial excellence. The award recipient will be an individual who exemplifies Sharon Banks' ideals and who has a documented record of innovative and successful leadership in areas such as the education, training, and mentoring of transportation professionals; community-sensitive transportation facilities and services; and other people-oriented initiatives that bring together individuals of diverse backgrounds in the pursuit of excellence. Recognition may be based either on a unique programmatic and leadership accomplishment or on sustained accomplishments over an extended period of time. The award is intended for individuals, but organizations will also be considered.

Candidates will be considered from the broad spectrum of the transportation community, including all transportation modes, government, industry, and academia. The award will not be given posthumously except in the event that a recipient dies between the time of selection and presentation.

NOMINATION PROCESS

Nominations must be submitted no later than July 31, 2023, to the TRB Executive Director, in the form of a letter summarizing how the candidate's innovative and successful leadership in people-oriented initiatives has made a difference in the lives of those who use, deliver, or support transportation services, as specified in the criteria above. The letter of nomination may be signed by any number of nominators; submission of separate, additional letters of support is strongly discouraged. The letter of nomination should be no longer than three pages and may be accompanied by the candidate's resume or bio. The selection of the recipient will be made by a Selection Committee appointed by the Chair of the TRB Executive Committee.

Submit letter of nomination no later than July 31, 2023 by e-mail to:

Victoria Sheehan Executive Director Transportation Research Board VSheehan@nas.edu