Transportation Infrastructure Group (AK) Geology and Geotechnical Engineering Section (AKG)

Engineering Geology Committee (AKG10)

Monday, Jan 06, 2025 1:30PM - 5:30PM, Marquis Salon 2 (M2) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with the application of geological sciences and engineering principles to the assessment/management of geologic features/geomaterials and the mitigation of natural/human-induced geologic hazards.

Chair: Vanessa Bateman <u>Vanessa.c.bateman@usace.army.mil</u>

Soil and Rock Properties and Site Characterization Committee (AKG20)

Tuesday, Jan 07, 2025 1:30PM - 5:30PM, Cherry Blossom (Mezz) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with traditional and emerging investigation techniques and effective classification systems for characterizing soil and rock. Areas of concern include measuring engineering properties in the field/laboratory and the analysis/interpretation of these properties in terms of design, construction, and performance.

Chair: Matthew Riegel <u>mdriegel@hntb.com</u>

Geo-Environmental and Climatic Impacts on Geomaterials Committee (AKG30)

Monday, Jan 06, 2025 3:45PM - 5:30PM, Silver Linden (Mezz) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with physical, chemical, and biological processes including climatic effects, freezing and thawing, and other interactions under various environmental conditions in natural, recycled, and engineered materials.

Chair: Benjamin Worel ben.worel@state.mn.us

Mechanics and Drainage of Saturated and Unsaturated Geomaterials Committee (AKG40)

Wednesday, Jan 08, 2025 8:00AM - 12:00PM, Cherry Blossom (Mezz) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with long-term performance of saturated and unsaturated geomaterials through improved understanding of transient and permanent changes in drainage, strength, volume, and fluid flow in infrastructure design, construction and improved performance.

Chair: Tom Yu tom.yu@dot.gov

Transportation Earthworks Committee (AKG50)

Monday, Jan 6, 2025 8:00AM - 12:00PM, Marquis Salon 2 (M2) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with all matters related to the design, construction and performance of transportation earthworks including natural, constructed, and reinforced slopes, earth retaining systems, and ground improvements.

Chair: Jie Han jiehan@ku.edu

Geotechnical Instrumentation and Modeling Committee (AKG60)

Tuesday, Jan 07, 2025 10:15AM - 12:00PM, Marquis Salon 2 (M2) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with instrumentation, monitoring, and modeling encompassing physical, numerical, and geospatial aspects of soil, rock and geosystems to obtain information for use in design, construction, performance assessment, risk analyses and asset management of transportation infrastructure.

Chair: Derrick Dasenbrock derrick.dasenbrock@dot.gov

Foundations of Bridge and Other Structures Committee (AKG70)

Wednesday, Jan 8, 2025 8:00AM - 12:00PM, Marquis Salon 2 (M2) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with the local and global behavior, stability, and interaction of structural foundations, and their supporting materials, for permanent and temporary transportation structures.

Chair: Sharid Amiri <u>sharid.amiri@dot.ca.gov</u>

Geosynthetics Committee (AKG80)

Monday, Jan 06, 2025 7:30PM - 10:00PM, Silver Linden (Mezz) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with the analysis, design, installation, and performance of geosynthetics used in transportation facilities. These concerns extend to design considerations and material properties, geosynthetic effectiveness in cost and performance, innovative or improved design and construction methodologies, and long-term performance.

Chair: Ecu Cuelho <u>ecuelho@tri-env.com</u>

Stabilization of Geomaterials and Recycled Materials Committee (AKG90)

Tuesday, Jan 07, 2025 1:30PM - 5:30PM, Marquis Salon 2 (M2) / Marriott Marquis

Scope: This committee is concerned with stabilization of materials in the design, construction, maintenance, preservation and rehabilitation of transportation infrastructure.

Chair: Christopher Lundgreen christopher.lundgreen@wsdot.wa.gov