

For Immediate Release News Release



500 Fifth Street, NW Washington, DC 20001

Date: January 7, 2008 Contact: Russell Houston (202) 334-3252

(202) 334-3252 rhouston@nas.edu

2008 FRED BURGGRAF AWARD WINNERS ANNOUNCED

The Transportation Research Board's Fred Burggraf Award, which recognizes excellence in transportation research by researchers 35 years of age or under, will be presented to the authors of two award-winning papers on January 14, 2008, at the Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lecture and Presentation of Outstanding Paper Awards during the Board's 87th Annual Meeting. The recipients are Stacy G. Williams of the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville; and Abolfazl Kouros Mohammadian and Taha Rashidi of the University of Illinois, Chicago. The Burggraf Award, which includes a cash prize, was established in 1966 to stimulate and encourage young researchers to contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the field of transportation. The award was named in honor of Fred Burggraf, who served as TRB's Executive Director from 1951 until his retirement in 1964.

The first of the award-winning papers, prepared by Williams, is titled "Bulk Specific Gravity Measurements of 25.0 mm and 37.5 mm Coarse-Graded Superpave Mixes." The paper has been published in Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board, No. 2001.

During the design and construction process, the bulk specific gravity (Gmb), a critical measurement of hot-mix asphalt, is used to calculate many of the properties that correspond to



pavement quality. The study evaluated four methods for measuring Gmb—the traditional saturated surface dry, the CoreLok, the height/diameter, and the CoreReader methods—using mix designs created from four aggregate sources for 25.0-mm and 37.5-mm nominal maximum aggregate sizes. The study acknowledged the significant advantages indicated by the other methods but does not support the elimination of the traditional Gmb test method.

Stacy Williams is a Research Assistant Professor at the University of Arkansas and the Director of the Center for Training Transportation Professionals. She has managed a number of research projects involving asphalt pavements and materials, on topics such as bulk specific gravity of asphalt mixtures, 4.75mm Superpave mixtures, non-nuclear asphalt density measurements, and asphalt longitudinal joint construction. A registered professional engineer in the state of Arkansas, Williams holds a Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of Arkansas.

The second of the award-winning papers, prepared by Mohammadian and Rashidi, is titled "Modeling Household Vehicle Transaction Behavior: A Competing Risk Duration Approach." The paper is available in the Compendium of Papers CD-ROM from the 86th Annual Meeting.

In the emerging transportation research field of household vehicle ownership analysis, a hazard-based duration model has the potential to model the competing nature of vehicle transactions in a household and predict the timing change in vehicle ownership. The award-winning paper discusses the use of competing hazard-based duration models to analyze household vehicle ownership decisions using three vehicle-transaction decisions—purchasing, trading, or disposing of a vehicle—and other variables. Independent hazard models and a competing hazard model for each outcome were developed, allowing comparisons to be made.

Kouros Mohammadian is an Assistant Professor of Transportation Systems at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He was previously at, on the faculty of the California State University in Sacramento. He is an internationally recognized expert in transportation data analysis, travel behavior modeling, and in the development of state-of-the-art activity and travel demand models for implementation in practice. Active in TRB, Mohammadian has published extensively in the field and his work has been covered in several international journals. He earned a Ph.D. from the University of Toronto.

Taha Rashidi is a Ph.D. student of transportation systems at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). He holds a master of science degree in transportation from the Sharif University of Technology, Iran. Rashidi's current research interests include transportation data analysis, travel behavior modeling, and land use models. He serves as president of the UIC Chapter of the Institute of Transportation Engineers and is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers.

More than 10,000 policy makers, administrators, practitioners, researchers, and representatives of government, industry, and academic institutions are expected to attend the Transportation Research Board (TRB) 87th Annual Meeting, in Washington, DC, January13-17, 2008. The meeting, held at the Marriott Wardman Park, Omni Shoreham, and Hilton Washington hotels, includes more than 3,000 presentations in 600 sessions, 85 workshops, and 400 TRB committee meetings covering all aspects of transportation.

The mission of the Transportation Research Board is to provide leadership in transportation innovation and progress through research and information exchange, conducted within a setting that is objective, interdisciplinary, and multimodal. A major focal point of TRB's activities, the Annual Meeting provides an opportunity for transportation professionals from all over the world to exchange information of common interest.

Organized in 1920, TRB is a division of the National Academies, which include the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council. The nation turns to the National Academies for independent, objective advice on issues that affect people's lives worldwide.

###

BURGGRAF/87